Lausanne railway station: authorisation for construction granted

The Federal Administrative Court rejects the two appeals against the modification of Lausanne railway station. The development of the retail areas is in accordance with the law and the political wish to alleviate federal funds. In addition, the noise emissions generated complie with the relevant standards of the law.

Symbolbild Gare de Lausanne
Photo: Keystone

As part of the Léman 2030 project, Swiss Federal Railways (SBB) is expanding and modifying Lausanne railway station in order to meet future mobility challenges. On 3 June 2019, the Federal Office of Transport (FOT) approved the plans for Lausanne railway station, which are budgeted at more than CHF 1.25 billion. This decision was appealed twice to the Federal Administrative Court (FAC). The appellants contested the authority of the FOT to approve the plans for the "Epinettes" car park/building and for the retail areas. They believe that the retail areas are too large and they also cite violations of noise protection standards. They are not contesting the expansion of the railway platform.

Authority of the FOT
The FAC firstly examined the authority of the FOT to approve the plans for the Epinettes car park and the new retail areas. The car park is primarily intended for use by train passengers, not excluding the possibility of third parties using it to access shops and the new museum centre. The car park/building is to support tracks 8 and 9 and platforms 4 and 5. The planned retail areas are all connected to the station infrastructure, and on the other hand railway infrastructure managers have the right to set up retail areas in stations. The Epinettes car park and the retail areas therefore constitute railway installations for which the authority of approval lies with the FOT.

The retail areas
Retail areas are being installed in major swiss railway stations in fulfilment of an objective set for SBB by the Federal Council. The aim is to enable them to generate a profit, which must then be partly reinvested in railway infrastructure. The sixty or so retail areas planned for Lausanne railway station have been defined based on current and future numbers of visitors to the station and are in line with what is done at other major railway stations in Switzerland. The principle of proportionality has therefore been complied with. The installation of a shopping centre at the location in question also meets the needs set out by cantonal planning.

Noise protection
The expansion of the station and creation of retail areas will lead to an increase in road traffic and noise. However, the numerous protective measures that have been decided upon will ensure that the legal limits are observed.

The FAC rejects the appeals against the decision to approve the plans for Lausanne railway station. The authorisation for construction granted by the FOT on 3 June 2019 is confirmed. This judgement may be appealed to the Federal Supreme Court.

Contact

Communication

Contact media relations
Tel. + 41 58 465 29 86
medien@bvger.admin.ch 

 

 
 
 

Print contact

https://www.bvger.ch/content/bvger/en/home/medien/medienmitteilungen-2020/bahnhoflausanne.html

Bahnhof Lausanne: Baubewilligung erteilt

Das Bundesverwaltungsgericht weist die beiden Beschwerden gegen den Umbau des Bahnhofs Lausanne ab. Der Ausbau der Gewerbeflächen ist rechtskonform und entspricht dem politischen Willen, die eidgenössischen Finanzen zu entlasten. Ausserdem sind die künftigen Lärmemissionen gesetzeskonform.

Symbolbild Gare de Lausanne
Foto: Keystone

Im Rahmen des Projekts «Léman 2030» vergrössern die Schweizerischen Bundesbahnen (SBB) den Bahnhof Lausanne und bauen ihn um, um den Herausforderungen der Mobilität der Zukunft zu entsprechen. Am 3. Juni 2019 genehmigte das Bundesamt für Verkehr (BAV) die Baupläne, wobei sich das Budget auf über 1,25 Milliarden Franken beläuft. Gegen diesen Entscheid wurden zwei Beschwerden beim Bundesverwaltungsgericht (BVGer) erhoben. Die Beschwerdeführer bestreiten die Zuständigkeit des BAV, die Pläne des Parkhauses/Gebäudes «Epinettes» und der Retailflächen zu genehmigen. Ihrer Auffassung nach sind die Gewerbeflächen zu gross und es werden die Lärmschutzvorschriften verletzt. Den Ausbau der Eisenbahninfrastruktur beanstanden sie nicht.

Zuständigkeit des BAV
Das BVGer hat vorab die Plangenehmigungskompetenz des BAV hinsichtlich der Pläne des Parkhauses «Epinettes» und der neuen Retailflächen geprüft. Das Parkhaus ist hauptsächlich für die Zugpassagiere bestimmt, wobei auch Dritte es benutzen können, um zu den Geschäften und zum neuen Museums- und Kulturzentrum zu gelangen. Zudem wird das Parking der Abstützung der Gleise 8 und 9 und der Perrons 4 und 5 dienen. Was die geplanten Gewerbeflächen betrifft, so werden diese mit der Bahnhofinfrastruktur verbunden sein. Im Übrigen haben die Betreiber von Eisenbahninfrastrukturen das Recht, in den Bahnhöfen Retailflächen vorzusehen. Das Parkhaus «Epinettes» und die Retailflächen gelten somit als Eisenbahnanlagen, für deren Genehmigung das BAV zuständig ist.

Gewerbeflächen
Mit den Retailflächen in den grossen Bahnhöfen der Schweiz wird ein Ziel verfolgt, das der Bundesrat den SBB vorgegeben hat. Das Ziel ist es, den SBB die Erwirtschaftung von Gewinnen zu ermöglichen, die teilweise in die Eisenbahninfrastruktur reinvestiert werden müssen. Die rund sechzig Gewerbeflächen, die im Bahnhof Lausanne geplant sind, wurden gestützt auf die aktuelle und künftige Benutzung des Bahnhofs definiert und entsprechen dem, was in anderen grossen Bahnhöfen der Schweiz üblich ist. Der Verhältnismässigkeitsgrundsatz wird somit nicht verletzt. Die Erstellung eines Einkaufszentrums an diesem Ort entspricht ebenfalls den Bedürfnissen der kantonalen Planung.

Lärmschutz
Der Ausbau des Bahnhofs und die Schaffung von Retailflächen werden eine Zunahme des Strassenverkehrs und des Lärms verursachen. Die vielen beschlossenen Schutzmassnahmen werden indessen die Einhaltung der gesetzlichen Bestimmungen sicherstellen.

Das BVGer weist die Beschwerden gegen die Genehmigung der Pläne des Bahnhofs Lausanne ab. Die Baubewilligung, die das BAV am 3. Juni 2019 erteilt hat, wird bestätigt. Dieses Urteil kann beim Bundesgericht angefochten werden.

Kontakt

Kommunikation

Kontakt Medienstelle
Tel. + 41 58 465 29 86
medien@bvger.admin.ch 

 

 
 
 

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bvger.ch/content/bvger/de/home/medien/medienmitteilungen-2020/bahnhoflausanne.html