Swisscom: Sanction largely upheld

In 2015, the Swiss Competition Commission sanctioned Swisscom with an amount of CHF 7.9 million for abusing its dominant market position in the context of a tender of the Swiss Post. The Federal Administrative Court essentially rejects the appeal against that ruling but reduces the amount to be paid to approximately CHF 7.4 million.

Symbolbild swisscom WEB
Photo: Keystone

In 2008, the Swiss Post issued an invitation tender for the installation and operation of a «Wide Area Network» (WAN) for its post office locations. Swisscom was awarded the contract. Sunrise claimed it was dependent on the provision of preliminaries by Swisscom in order to be able to connect post office locations. The high prices charged by Swisscom for those preliminaries made it impossible for Sunrise to submit a competitive tender.

In its judgment, the Federal Administrative Court held that Swisscom had imposed unreasonably high prices both on the Swiss Post and on Sunrise. For the post office locations which it could neither have covered with regulated products nor with its own, Sunrise was dependent on Swisscom's unreasonably expensive commercial preliminaries. Moreover, while preventing Sunrise from realising a margin, Swisscom abused its dominant market position by inflicting a margin squeeze. The sanction imposed is among other things aimed at absorbing the unlawfully realised profit of Swisscom.

In an earlier judgment (B-7633/2009 on «Swisscom’s ADSL price policy»), the Federal Administrative Court had already accused Swisscom of imposing a margin squeeze.

This judgment may be appealed to the Federal Supreme Court.

Contact

Communication

Contact media relations
Tel. + 41 58 465 29 86
medien@bvger.admin.ch 

Print contact

https://www.bvger.ch/content/bvger/en/home/medien/medienmitteilungen-2021/swisscomsanktionweitgehendbestatigt.html

Swisscom: Sanktion weitgehend bestätigt

Die Wettbewerbskommission hat Swisscom im Jahr 2015 wegen Marktmachtmissbrauchs im Rahmen einer Ausschreibung der Post mit 7.9 Mio. Franken sanktioniert. Das Bundesverwaltungsgericht weist die dagegen erhobene Beschwerde im Wesentlichen ab, reduziert aber den Sanktionsbetrag auf rund 7.4 Mio. Franken.

Symbolbild swisscom WEB
Foto: Keystone

Die Post schrieb 2008 die Errichtung und den Betrieb eines «Wide Area Network» (WAN) für ihre Poststandorte aus. Swisscom erhielt den Zuschlag. Sunrise machte geltend, für die Anbindung der Poststellen sei sie auf Vorleistungen von Swisscom angewiesen gewesen. Aufgrund der hohen Vorleistungspreise von Swisscom habe sie kein konkurrenzfähiges Angebot unterbreiten können.

Swisscom hat gemäss dem Entscheid des Bundesverwaltungsgerichts sowohl gegenüber der Post als auch gegenüber Sunrise unangemessene Preise erzwungen. Sunrise sei hinsichtlich der Poststandorte, die sie weder mit regulierten noch mit eigenen Produkten habe abdecken können, auf die unangemessen teuren kommerziellen Vorleistungsprodukte von Swisscom angewiesen gewesen. Da es Sunrise zudem nicht möglich gewesen wäre, eine Marge zu erzielen, habe Swisscom seine besondere Marktmacht in Form einer sogenannten Kosten-Preis-Schere missbraucht. Mit der auferlegten Sanktion wird unter anderem der Gewinn abgeschöpft, den Swisscom mit dem unzulässigen Verhalten erzielt hat.

Das Bundesverwaltungsgericht hatte Swisscom bereits in einem früheren Urteil (B-7633/2009, «Swisscom Preispolitik ADSL») die Anwendung einer Kosten-Preis-Schere vorgeworfen.

Dieses Urteil kann beim Bundesgericht angefochten werden.

Kontakt

Kommunikation

Kontakt Medienstelle
Tel. + 41 58 465 29 86
medien@bvger.admin.ch

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bvger.ch/content/bvger/de/home/medien/medienmitteilungen-2021/swisscomsanktionweitgehendbestatigt.html