Justitia 4.0: Judgement on the invitation to tender

The association «Digitale Gesellschaft» and a Swiss IT company lack the right of appeal against the invitation to tender for the planned judicial platform «Justitia.Swiss». The Federal Administration Court therefore dismisses their appeal without entering into the substance of the case.

Image symbol of justice
Image: Keystone.

The Conference of the Judiciary and the Conference of Cantonal Justice and Police Directors (CCJPD) plan to create a unified Swiss judicial portal. In future, the central e-justice platform should enable direct legal exchanges between the different parties involved in court proceedings and facilitate the inspection of files at all stages of the proceedings. The project «Justitia 4.0» was launched for this purpose, and the CCJPD was entrusted with the project management.

On 21 July 2021, the CCJPD, as the contracting authority, issued a public invitation to tender for the platform «Justitia.Swiss». The association «Digitale Gesellschaft» and a Swiss IT/ Software company filed an appeal with the Federal Administration Court (FAC) requesting that the invitation to tender be declared null and void.

No right of appeal
Since the right of both parties to appeal is in doubt and disputed, the Court must first examine this question. The right of appeal presupposes that the appellants are specifically affected by the contested invitation to tender and have an interest worthy of protection in its revocation or amendment. The FAC reaches the conclusion that both appellants have no right of appeal and therefore dismisses their appeal without entering into the substance of the case.

Criteria not satisfied
The association «Digitale Gesellschaft» would only have the right to appeal if it satisfied the criteria for a «representative» appeal (which is brought by an association in its own name but in the interests of its members). This presupposes a close and immediate connection between the purpose of the association as defined in its Statutes and the contested ruling. Under its Statutes, the purpose of the association «Digitale Gesellschaft» is obviously not to protect the interests of potential tenderers in the invitation to tender at issue. Nor is it apparent how a large number of the members of the association might be specifically affected by the invitation to tender. It follows that the association does not satisfy the second criterion for a «representative» action either.

The IT/Software company failed to present to the Court the necessary proof of its right of appeal. During the legal proceedings, the company did affirm that it was interested in executing the contracts put out to tender. However, it did not substantiate its general statements, and the Court is doubtful that the Company is a potential provider for the services in question. This is because, rather than addressing specific issues of procurement law, the Company’s arguments reside in a political appraisal of a still forthcoming legislative process relating to the Justitia 4.0 project.

This judgment may be appealed to the Federal Supreme Court.

Contact

Communication

Contact media relations
Tel. + 41 58 465 29 86
medien@bvger.admin.ch

Print contact

https://www.bvger.ch/content/bvger/en/home/medien/medienmitteilungen-2022/ausschreibung.html

Justitia 4.0: Gerichtsentscheid zur Ausschreibung

Der Verein Digitale Gesellschaft sowie ein Schweizer IT-Unternehmen sind nicht legitimiert, gerichtlich gegen die Ausschreibung zur geplanten Justizplattform «Justitia.Swiss» vorzugehen. Das Bundesverwaltungsgericht tritt daher nicht auf ihre Beschwerden ein.

Symbolfoto für Gerechtigkeit
Foto: Keystone.

Die Justizkonferenz und die Konferenz der kantonalen Justiz- und Polizeidirektorinnen und -direktoren (KKJPD) wollen ein einheitliches schweizerisches Justizportal schaffen. Die zentrale E-Justiz-Plattform soll künftig bei Gerichtsverfahren den Rechtsverkehr zwischen den verschiedenen Verfahrensbeteiligten sowie die Akteneinsicht in allen Verfahrensabschnitten ermöglichen. Zu diesem Zweck wurden das Projekt «Justitia 4.0» ins Leben gerufen und die KKJPD mit der Projektleitung betraut.

Die KKJPD hat als Beschaffungsstelle am 21. Juli 2021 einen entsprechenden Dienstleistungsauftrag für die Plattform «Justitia.Swiss» öffentlich ausgeschrieben. Gegen die Ausschreibung haben der Verein Digitale Gesellschaft und eine Schweizer IT-/Software-Firma Beschwerde beim Bundesverwaltungsgericht (BVGer) erhoben und beantragen, die Ausschreibung sei als nichtig zu erklären.

Fehlende Beschwerdelegitimation
Weil vorliegend bei beiden Beschwerdeführenden die Legitimation zur Beschwerde fraglich und umstritten ist, hat das Gericht vorerst diese Frage zu prüfen. Die Legitimation setzt voraus, dass die Beschwerdeführenden durch die angefochtene Ausschreibung besonders betroffen sind und ein schutzwürdiges Interesse an deren Aufhebung bzw. Abänderung haben. Das BVGer kommt bei beiden Beschwerdeführenden zum Schluss, dass eine Legitimation fehlt und tritt daher nicht auf ihre Beschwerden ein.

Voraussetzungen nicht erfüllt
Der Verein Digitale Gesellschaft wäre nur dann zur Beschwerde befugt, wenn er die Voraussetzungen einer sogenannten egoistischen Verbandsbeschwerde erfüllen würde. Dabei muss ein enger, unmittelbarer Zusammenhang zwischen dem statuarischen Vereinszweck und der angefochtenen Verfügung bestehen. Gemäss Statuten bezweckt der Verein Digitale Gesellschaft offensichtlich nicht den Schutz der Interessen von potentiellen Anbietern in der vorliegenden Ausschreibung. Auch ist nicht ersichtlich, inwiefern eine grosse Anzahl seiner Mitglieder von der Ausschreibung betroffen sein soll. Daraus folgt, dass auch die zweite Voraussetzung einer egoistischen Verbandsbeschwerde nicht erfüllt ist.

Der IT-/Software-Firma ist es nicht gelungen, dem BVGer den notwendigen Nachweis für die Beschwerdelegitimation zu erbringen. Zwar hat sie im Laufe des Gerichtsverfahrens ausgeführt, sie wäre an der Ausführung der ausgeschriebenen Aufträge interessiert. Ihre pauschalen Aussagen wurden nicht konkretisiert und es bleibt für das Gericht zweifelhaft, ob es sich bei der Firma um eine potenzielle Erbringerin der in Frage stehenden Leistungen handelt. Denn bei ihren Ausführungen handelt es sich nicht um spezifisch beschaffungsrechtliche Fragestellungen, sondern um eine politische Bewertung des noch bevorstehenden Gesetzgebungsprozesses im Zusammenhang mit dem Projekt Justitia 4.0.

Dieses Urteil kann beim Bundesgericht angefochten werden.

https://www.bvger.ch/content/bvger/de/home/medien/medienmitteilungen-2022/ausschreibung.html