Lauber case: delegation to third party not permitted

The Supervisory Authority of the Federal Government for the Office of the Attorney General is not permitted to delegate the disciplinary investigation of the Lauber case to a third party. Decisions by third parties are invalid. This is the decision reached by the Swiss Federal Administrative Court.

 
Lauber

In June 2019, the Supervisory Authority of the Federal Government for the Office of the Attorney General (SA-OAG) commissioned the external expert Peter Hänni, professor for constitutional and administrative law, to conduct a disciplinary investigation into Swiss Attorney General Michael Lauber. As the investigator-in-charge, Hänni is making enquiries into the conduct of the proceedings by the Office of the Attorney General (OAG) in the FIFA cases.

At the beginning of July 2019, the Attorney General informed the Supervisory Authority that he had entrusted the lawyers Lorenz Erni and Francesca Caputo with protecting his interests. Erni is also the legal representative of the former FIFA President Joseph Blatter.

Lawyers not permitted
On 3 July 2019, the investigator-in-charge ruled that the two lawyers were not permitted to represent and advise the Attorney General. He also removed the suspensive effect of any appeal against the decision. Hänni justified his decision with a conflict of interest as the lawyers were both representatives of a party in the FIFA cases and representing the Attorney General, whose actions in connection with the FIFA proceedings were to be investigated. The Attorney General and his lawyers lodged an appeal against this decision with the Federal Administrative Court (FAC) in mid-July.

Contested decision has no legal effect
The FAC points out that the transfer of administrative duties and the power of disposal of organizations outside the Federal Administration requires a sufficient legal basis.

On the whole, the organizational and procedural provisions for disciplinary investigation give rise to no legal grounds that would allow the SA-OAG to outsource a disciplinary investigation and to grant an external person powers of disposal. The investigator-in-charge issued the decision without the SA-OAG transferring him the duty of conducting the investigation and the associated powers of disposal in a lawful manner. The contested decision therefore has no legal effect.

The appellant’s request for restoration of the suspensive effect is therefore dismissed. The appeal is not being considered. The FAC also rules that the decision of the investigator-in-charge is invalid.

This judgment may be appealed to the Federal Supreme Court.

Contact

Communication

Rocco R. Maglio
Press secretary
Tel. + 41 58 465 29 86

 

 

Print contact

https://www.bvger.ch/content/bvger/en/home/medien/medienmitteilungen-2019/fall-lauber--delegation-an-drittperson-unzulaessig.html

Affaire Lauber : délégation à des tiers illicite

Dans l’affaire Lauber, l’autorité de surveillance du Ministère public de la Confédération n’était pas autorisée à déléguer l’enquête disciplinaire à un tiers externe. Les décisions prises par des tiers sont nulles. Ainsi en a décidé le Tribunal administratif fédéral.

 
Lauber

En juin 2019, l’autorité de surveillance du Ministère public de la Confédération (AS-MPC) a mandaté un expert externe, à savoir le professeur de droit constitutionnel et de droit administratif Peter Hänni, pour conduire une enquête disciplinaire à l’encontre du procureur général de la Confédération Michael Lauber. En qualité de chef de l’enquête, le professeur a mené des investigations sur la gestion par le Ministère public de la Confédération (MPC) du complexe d’affaires FIFA.

Début juillet 2019, le procureur général a fait savoir à l’autorité de surveillance qu’il avait mandaté les avocats Lorenz Erni et Francesca Caputo pour défendre ses intérêts. L’avocat Erni est simultanément représentant de l’ancien président de la FIFA Joseph Blatter.

Avocats refusés
Le 3 juillet 2019, le chef de l’enquête disciplinaire a conclu que les deux avocats n’étaient pas autorisés à représenter et à conseiller le procureur général. En outre, il a retiré l’effet suspensif à tout éventuel recours déposé contre sa décision. Peter Hänni a motivé sa position en invoquant un conflit d’intérêts résultant du fait que les avocats concernés, d’un côté, officient en tant que représentants d’une partie dans le complexe d’affaires FIFA et, de l’autre, assurent la défense du procureur général dont les agissements dans le même dossier sont soumis à enquête. Mi-juillet, le procureur général et ses avocats ont fait recours contre cette décision auprès du Tribunal administratif fédéral (TAF).

Décision attaquée dénuée d’effet juridique
Le TAF rappelle que le fait de déléguer des tâches administratives et un pouvoir de disposer à des organisations externes à l’administration fédérale requiert une base légale adéquate. En l’occurrence, les dispositions relatives à l’organisation et au déroulement des enquêtes disciplinaires ne contiennent aucune base qui aurait autorisé l’AS-MPC à externaliser une telle enquête et à doter le tiers sollicité de pouvoirs décisionnels. Le chef de l’enquête a édicté une décision alors même que le mandat de l’AS-MPC pour conduire l’enquête et pour disposer dans ce cadre n’était pas licite. En conséquence, la décision attaquée est dépourvue d’effet juridique.
La demande du requérant de rétablir l’effet suspensif est donc déclarée sans objet. Le TAF n’entre pas en matière sur le recours. Il constate par ailleurs que la décision du chef de l’enquête est nulle et non avenue.

L’arrêt est susceptible de recours au Tribunal fédéral.
 

 

Contact

Communication

Rocco R. Maglio
Attaché de presse
Tel. + 41 58 465 29 86

 

 

Imprimer contact

https://www.bvger.ch/content/bvger/fr/home/medien/medienmitteilungen-2019/fall-lauber--delegation-an-drittperson-unzulaessig.html