Justitia 4.0: Judgement on the invitation to tender

The association «Digitale Gesellschaft» and a Swiss IT company lack the right of appeal against the invitation to tender for the planned judicial platform «Justitia.Swiss». The Federal Administration Court therefore dismisses their appeal without entering into the substance of the case.

Image symbol of justice
Image: Keystone.

The Conference of the Judiciary and the Conference of Cantonal Justice and Police Directors (CCJPD) plan to create a unified Swiss judicial portal. In future, the central e-justice platform should enable direct legal exchanges between the different parties involved in court proceedings and facilitate the inspection of files at all stages of the proceedings. The project «Justitia 4.0» was launched for this purpose, and the CCJPD was entrusted with the project management.

On 21 July 2021, the CCJPD, as the contracting authority, issued a public invitation to tender for the platform «Justitia.Swiss». The association «Digitale Gesellschaft» and a Swiss IT/ Software company filed an appeal with the Federal Administration Court (FAC) requesting that the invitation to tender be declared null and void.

No right of appeal
Since the right of both parties to appeal is in doubt and disputed, the Court must first examine this question. The right of appeal presupposes that the appellants are specifically affected by the contested invitation to tender and have an interest worthy of protection in its revocation or amendment. The FAC reaches the conclusion that both appellants have no right of appeal and therefore dismisses their appeal without entering into the substance of the case.

Criteria not satisfied
The association «Digitale Gesellschaft» would only have the right to appeal if it satisfied the criteria for a «representative» appeal (which is brought by an association in its own name but in the interests of its members). This presupposes a close and immediate connection between the purpose of the association as defined in its Statutes and the contested ruling. Under its Statutes, the purpose of the association «Digitale Gesellschaft» is obviously not to protect the interests of potential tenderers in the invitation to tender at issue. Nor is it apparent how a large number of the members of the association might be specifically affected by the invitation to tender. It follows that the association does not satisfy the second criterion for a «representative» action either.

The IT/Software company failed to present to the Court the necessary proof of its right of appeal. During the legal proceedings, the company did affirm that it was interested in executing the contracts put out to tender. However, it did not substantiate its general statements, and the Court is doubtful that the Company is a potential provider for the services in question. This is because, rather than addressing specific issues of procurement law, the Company’s arguments reside in a political appraisal of a still forthcoming legislative process relating to the Justitia 4.0 project.

This judgment may be appealed to the Federal Supreme Court.

Contact

Communication

Contact media relations
Tel. + 41 58 465 29 86
medien@bvger.admin.ch

Print contact

https://www.bvger.ch/content/bvger/en/home/medien/medienmitteilungen-2022/ausschreibung.html

Justitia 4.0: décision judiciaire sur l’appel d’offres

L’association Société Numérique et une entreprise suisse d’informatique ne sont pas légitimées à contester en justice l’appel d’offres pour la nouvelle plateforme «Justitia.Swiss». Le Tribunal administratif fédéral n’entre pas en matière sur leur recours.

Photo symbole de la justice
Photo: Keystone.

La Conférence de la justice et la Conférence des directrices et directeurs des départements cantonaux de justice et police (CCDJP) souhaitent créer un portail de la justice suisse. La plateforme centralisée de cyberjustice doit permettre à l’avenir la communication entre les parties à une procédure judiciaire et la consultation des dossiers dans toutes les phases de procédure. C’est le but du projet « Justitia 4.0 » placé sous la direction de la CCDJP.

En sa qualité de service d’achat, la CCDJP a ainsi lancé le 21 juillet 2021 un appel d’offres portant sur un marché de services pour la plateforme «Justitia.Swiss». L’association Société Numérique et une entreprise suisse d’informatique et de logiciels ont fait recours au Tribunal administratif fédéral (TAF) contre cet appel d’offres, concluant à ce qu’il soit déclaré nul.

Défaut de qualité pour recourir
Dans la mesure où la qualité pour recourir des deux recourants est douteuse et contestée, le TAF doit d’abord examiner cette question. Cette qualité présuppose que les recourants soient spécialement concernés par l’appel d’offres attaqué et qu’ils aient un intérêt digne de protection à son annulation ou à sa modification. En l’occurrence, le tribunal arrive à la conclusion que les deux recourants ne sont pas légitimés à contester cette procédure en justice et refuse ainsi d’entrer en matière sur leur recours.

Conditions non remplies
L’association Société Numérique ne serait admise à faire recours que si elle remplissait les deux exigences liées à un recours « corporatif égoïste ». Il faut tout d’abord une relation étroite immédiate entre le but statutaire de l’association et la décision attaquée. Conformément à ses statuts, la Société Numérique n’a manifestement pas comme but de protéger les intérêts de soumissionnaires potentiels dans le cadre de l’appel d’offres en question. Il n’est pas non plus évident de savoir dans quelle mesure un nombre important des membres de l’association seraient concernés par la procédure. Il en résulte que la deuxième condition liée au recours corporatif n’est pas non plus remplie.

L’entreprise d’informatique et de logiciels n’a, pour sa part, pas réussi à apporter au tribunal la preuve nécessaire de sa qualité pour recourir. Elle a certes expliqué durant la procédure judiciaire qu’elle était intéressée à assurer les mandats mis au concours, mais sans pouvoir concrétiser ses déclarations d’ordre général. Les juges n’ont donc pu se convaincre que l’entreprise figure parmi les prestataires potentiels pour les prestations recherchées. Les allégués de la recourante ne concernent pas des problématiques spécifiques au droit des marchés publics mais relèvent d’une appréciation politique du processus législatif prévu dans le projet Justitia 4.0.

Cet arrêt est susceptible de recours au Tribunal fédéral.

https://www.bvger.ch/content/bvger/fr/home/medien/medienmitteilungen-2022/ausschreibung.html